To Mammy Byrne

comments 8
humorous

Life is strange and we never ever know what joys or sorrows tomorrow may bring. The 14th of June 1969 saw Mary Ryan and Brian Byrne become husband and wife. They set forth full of hope and optimism for a bright future full of joy and laughter secure in the knowledge that once they had each other they could face any difficulty that came their way. By 1974 two extremely cute little girls had arrived and the Byrne family was complete.

Tomorrow would be my parent’s 43rd wedding anniversary. I’m not quite sure how wedding anniversaries are acknowledged in other households where a parent has passed away, I just know that my Mum likes her special day acknowledged even if it is only in a small way. While cards and flowers are usually bought to mark the day it is bittersweet and celebrations as such would probably seem crass.

My own wedding anniversary falls on June 5th. It’s been 13 years and I remember the day and the weeks before in great detail. It is only now as a mother and a wife that I can fully appreciate the effort that goes into making a marriage, a family and a home. The celebration of birthdays, anniversaries and holidays are times for family to come together and reminisce about times past. Birthdays, anniversaries and holidays where always considered special in our home when I was growing up. In turn, family events are a big deal in my home. I believe the sense of family that I have is a gift from my wonderful parents.

So this June 14th I will thank god that two lovely people met and fell in love and that their love has lived on in both me and my sister and in our young families. It may not always be obvious from my blogs but Mammy Byrne is my hero. I am the woman I am today thanks to her. Happy anniversary xxx.

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

8 Comments

  1. Happy 43rd wedding anniversay Mammy Byrne with much love to you and yours. Belated happy anniversary to you and yours Karen. I believe you have captured the essence of life in this script Karen. Family and memories. It is the stuff of life & living 😉 Go raibh mile agat, with love xox

    Like

  2. Claire Rafferty says

    What a beautiful piece of writing. As I have said many times I always admired your Mum. I remember your dads passing well.Her strength always amazed me even as a young child. She never stumbled and you two girls were her everything. Such a great role model. Happy Anniversary Mary and I am sure Brian is looking down bursting with pride at the 3 amazing woman that he calls his own xxxxx

    Like

    • Claire you are one of the nicest women I have the pleasure of calling friend. Thank you so much. My mums strength amazes me still, the older I get and the more I experience of life I really don’t know how she managed to keep going. They where soul mates, and she still speaks of my Dad like he’s going to walk in the door. Not in a sad and miserable way…..because that is one thing she has never really been. I hope I have half the strength she has. Thanks for your lovely comments, and thanks for remembering. x

      Like

  3. Andy (@militantcactus) says

    Wonderful as ever. Happy anniversary to your Mam and Dad, a happy memory is always worth acknowledging and celebrating 🙂
    And a belated happy anniversary to you too! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

