The surprises a new day can bring.

Leave a comment
humorous

Life is full of surprises. Some good and some not so good but it is in dealing with the unexpected that we learn about ourselves and about others. This  August has been full of surprises for me and my family and we’re only nine days. My laptop has been destroyed and no longer works properly. It had a pint of beer spilled all over it, by accident of course. It could have been worse, I could have lost all documents and photos, oh hang on, I did.

It’s amazing how quickly we become dependent on things. I didn’t think that the loss of my laptop would affect me to any great degree. However, once it was gone, I began to realise that I use it a lot more than I think. Updating my CV for a job application was no longer as easy as plugging in the laptop and opening  word.

My laptop worries paled into insignificance when I woke last Saturday to discover that over night I had gained about fifteen neighbours. My little boy was over the moon. We’ve lived in total isolation for the past fifteen years and he has never known what it is like to go out the gate and have someone to play with. he instantly made friends.

To be honest, I had a really hard time dealing with the constant stream of kids in and out of my garden. I really couldn’t cope with the general noise and mayhem that arrives with a group of fifteen to twenty kids of all ages swarming about my house and yard. I like solitude. I like quiet.

Over these first few early days of August I have discovered that I am patient, much more patient than I ever gave myself credit for. I have found that while I am laid back my home is my sanctuary, it’s where I go to relax, recharge my batteries and to hide from the world. I live where I live for a reason. I like the loneliness that it brings, I like the peace and solitude. While I love company  and to have people in my life I like it on my terms.

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

Leave a Reply

