Is that you Mary?

comments 3
humorous

I recently got my hair cut short.  I’ve had a bob for as long as my two children can remember. One day I woke and just wanted a change. I warned the family that I was getting it all chopped off. Reactions varied from, ‘that’s grand’ to ‘what? no why!’ When I arrived home the reaction was fantastic. Everyone loved mum’s new hair. There was lots of uh’s and ah’s and as I stood there enjoying all the compliments I was reminded of a haircut my mum had when I was about seven.

I was waiting at the bus stop after school, as you do, when I noticed a lady with a huge afro style hairdo approaching. She smiled and waved in my direction as I checked if the bus was on its way. As I’d been warned about strangers I quickly turned away, ignoring the friendly lady with the big hairdo.

As the lady with the big hairdo got closer I began to think that she looked a  little familiar. She was still smiling widely at me even though I was pointedly ignoring her. As she drew up close I looked up at her and asked in a curious voice, ‘are you my mammy?’

My new do wasn’t as drastic as Mammy Byrne’s new afro. It’s amazing how many memories we have stored away, just waiting for something  to trigger our unconscious and bring them back to life for a moment.

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

