Summer is at an end.

Leave a comment
humorous

Back to school tomorrow, end of the lazy days of summer. I’m not one of those mums who has been waiting for school to reopen since it closed in June. I love the freedom that the summer holidays bring. I also love the peace and tranquillity that is restored to my home for the too few summer months.

I have two very different children. One who loves the hustle and bustle of being immersed in the classroom setting while the other would much rather be schooled at home.

My child with the aversion to going to school is a walking contradiction.  Quite happy and content in her own company but at the same time a great mixer. No matter where we go, she never fails to leave with at least one new friend to add to her list.

The summer has seen a decline in the amount of aches, pains and ailments in our house. I have the healthiest ten year old in Ireland. Until tomorrow, that is. Tomorrow will see the return of all ailments, major and minor.

Every year I have a chat with myself. Advise myself that patience and understanding are what’s needed. I try to remember how I used to feel when a school morning rolled around.

This year is no different. The chat has been had. The Camomile tea has been bought. I’m ready for September! I’m also ready for my wonderful daughter to surprise me.

She has grown and matured over the past few months. Her quirky sense of humour has developed and she has anyone who’ll listen in stitches most of the time.

So I am looking forward to being wrong about a certain little persons school term behaviour. Only the passing of the next few days and weeks will tell. Fingers crossed, and best of luck to all those starting school and of course to all those who are returning.

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

Leave a Reply

