Epic Fail

comments 3
humorous

Back to school 2012 will be forever etched on my memory. Before I start my sorry tale I have to say, I am a good Mum. I am, really! I am patient, understanding and kind, ok I’m patient, understanding and kind most of the time.

I cook lovely nutritious food for my off spring, I bake tasty goodies and when we’re out and about I keep them in my line of vision most of the time. I’m struggling with giving them the freedom to roam and the knowledge that not all people are nice and trustworthy. After all, children go missing all the time, but I digress, back to this mornings drama.

I heard the dog sniffing about at 6.29 and forced myself out of the bed to bring the mutt for a walk. As I was heading out the door I was greeted by a happy smile from the small person who does not like school mornings. Yes, there she was at 6.33 dressed and smiling, ready for the day. “Say nothing,” says I to myself “best thing is to just smile and pretend like nothing new is happening.”

Off the three of us set for a brisk walk in the lovely morning moon light. Everything was going grand. We returned from our walk and got breakfast and woke the lads and this is where it all went downhill. Very quickly.

My gorgeous nine year old had lost a tooth the night before and as is tradition, in fact the law I think, placed it under his pillow before going to sleep.

He arrives in the kitchen fully dressed complete with that adorable sleepy head look that children do so well. When asked what the morning report is this morning he replies, “I’m done with the tooth fairy, she’s after forgetting again.”

Ok, so I have to admit that although I am probably one of the biggest believers in fairies I’m a very bad tooth fairy. I forget to exchange the tooth for the coins more times than not. No judgement please! I shed enough tears this morning.

When I thought no one was paying attention I left the table to remedy my huge mistake only to be caught red handed. Oh, his little face as he asked, “what’s next…….the Easter bunny, Santa?” and standing behind with a mischievous glint in her eye is his sister mouthing, “How will he cope when he finds out about Santa?”

It was then that the tears fell. Not his, mine. Another milestone reached. Another little bit of magic lost.

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

3 Comments

  1. Awww! Rough morning, for sure! I can imagine it’s so hard to see that little bubble of belief burst, but I guess it has to happen at some point. I’m sure you are still a wonderful mom – just the fact that you are so sad about it proves you are! 🙂

    Like

  2. Awww Karen……… Do remember though, that you are the Tooth Fairy, Easter Bunny and Santa……….So these people do exist, they’re just not who he thought they were. Keep the faith. The magic does stay if you tell him this. 😉

    Like

  3. Thank you both for your lovely comments. I don’t really think I’m a bad mum, I do the best I can and hope for the best:). I love the magic, mystery and excitement of the tooth fairy easter bunny et al. Jake is my youngest and while it is great to see him grow and become more independent a little part of me is missing my baby!! Our children are gifts and I am enjoying mine immensely 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

