Procrastination with a Capital P…..

comment 1
thoughts

So here’s the deal. I have a thesis to write. I like writing. However, when I sit myself down to write said thesis my mind wonders in fifty million other directions. I find myself thinking about power differentials and then Gramsci’s theory of hegemony comes to mind. How different aspects of society conspire to make us feel that there is no other way. How we get coerced into consumerism and we accept the way things are done often times lamenting the fact by throwing our hands in the air and grumbling ‘what’s the point, it’s not going to change anything’. Before I realise it the next thought to enter my head is that change is like a ripple in a pond, it starts of small and spreads. Change begins with you and me. My thoughts continue in this vain and rather than focusing on the problem at hand I am consumed with an overwhelming urge to try to sort out the world’s problems! I have to reign myself in and return to the word on the page, the keyboard at hand and the fact that I can’t change the world in a day all by myself……………………

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

1 Comment

  1. laura says

    It gets over whelming that ripple and the pond feels like that raging sea,with all the World issues and the people within…can it be done, one wonders,can the masses change, can there be a difference made..I think yes..slowly,like a ripple in a puddle but it’s a ripple all the same …

    Like

Leave a Reply

