Ramblings of a Masters Student

Leave a comment
Life, Love, Family / thoughts

Every now and then I take a deep breath and think, ‘how did I get here?’ My second thought is usually about being found out, being a fraud! I potter about my kitchen at ease. I love to cook, bake and generally keep the house ticking over. I have very fond memories of being a full-time mum before my two children started national school. I really enjoyed the carefree non routine of those days. Having the time to watch and enjoy my two lovelies grow and develop was a gift.

Heading back to education almost eight years ago was a gift too. I know without the support and encouragement that I received from Darren I couldn’t have even dreamed of heading back to study.

I seem to have taken the long laborious route throughout my life. While there are times that I wish I had taken the traditional route to third level education I feel I would have missed out on all the experiences that have made me who I am. It is a combination of these experiences that have resulted in me completing a Masters in Education.

I won’t say that it has been easy, but then haven’t we always been told that anything worth having is worth working for? I don’t mind the hard work. I do however feel that pursuing my dream is slightly selfish. I have to spend a lot of time grappling with ideas and translating them into everyday speak so that I can apply them to my area of interest. At the moment my research question is to the fore of my mind at all times. It only starts to be a problem when my lovely children ask a question that demands more than a non-committal nod of the head. I did think that it would get easier as they got older but the opposite is in fact true. As they get older and become more independent they seem to demand a different kind of attention.

I am not the type to quit once I start something; however I have to admit that I have had a fleeting moment or two of doubt and I have allowed myself to contemplate giving up. When I have these thoughts I have a great group of people I can turn to. They believe in me much more than I do. Leading this group is my long-suffering husband. Always on hand with a kind word or just a look that says ‘you know you’re nearly there, put down that damn phone and get cracking!’

Family. Everyone experiences it differently. I know I couldn’t possibly have reached  where I am today without mine. Thanks. I do appreciate all you do, all of you.

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

Leave a Reply

