Day 4 #100happydays challenge

Leave a comment
Life, Love, Family

So it’s day four and today’s photo is:

Photo: Making cookies never fails to make me happy!!!

My sister and niece paid us a very welcome visit today. If I was asked ‘are they here yet’ once I was asked it a thousand times!  I love having people over. Especially family, so as soon as I dropped Darren to work I got started on straightening the house and making something tasty for our much anticipated guests to eat.

Nevin McGuire’s chocolate cookies are a  favorite sweet treat  chez Shiels at the moment and sure while I had his book out it would be rude not to make his delicious sweet potato and coconut soup! This gorgeous creamy soup with a dash of ginger and a sprinkling of chilli is prefect for  lunch on a chilly day.

You can’t have a bowl of heart warming soup without a chunk of soda bread so when the cookies were baking the soda bread was made!

And then all we had to do was wait.

It wasn’t long before we were all around the table chatting ninety to the dozen, the kitchen filled with love and laughter.

I love cooking for those I hold dear. Just getting the ingredients ready made me smile, a smile that rested not only on my lips but reached my  heart.

Day 4 down filled with many happy moments only 96 to go!

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

Leave a Reply

