#100happydays Day 9

comments 2
Life, Love, Family

I spent the morning in one of the most relaxing places I know. I walked in the door with a thick head of unruly hair and walked out with sleek, smooth, shiny locks all thanks to my very talented hairdresser. 

I had my hair cut quite short during the summer of 2012. I had just finished a Post Grad Diploma and wanted a change. You know how it is. The last time I had felt like a change I had dyed my hair pink. This time I thought, ‘let’s go short’ and I did.

After a couple of months I decided to go even shorter. Bad idea, real bad idea.

What was even worse was I picked the week of my graduation to make this drastic change.  I hadn’t been able to get an appointment with my usually hairdresser and being rather impatient I couldn’t wait.

I noticed it going a little wrong and gently pointed out that one side was shorter than the other. Big mistake by the time it was ‘remedied’ one side was still shorter than the other only now my hair was too short to be able to do anything about it.

I hated it so much I actually cried. And to make matters worse it kinda refused to grow.

I have never been too impatient to wait for my usual hairdresser again. We have skirted the subject of just how long it has taken my hair to regain some kind of shape. If I’m honest it is only because of Dawn’s expertise and talent.

I never step away from her chair without feeling fabulous. As she commented on how both sides of my hair are finally even we shared a knowing grin.

As  I swished my hair leaving the hairdressers I was happy out! Rapunzel is back!

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

