#100happydays Day 11

Leave a comment
Life, Love, Family

Today I caught myself enjoying many moments. You may argue that most of these moments are mundane and run of the mill, however, since deciding to take part in this challenge I have noticed that for me the most enjoyable moments are those that are steeped in the ordinariness of everyday life.

This morning I savoured the aromas of the herbs and spices that simmered away on the cooker while I whipped up a batch of cookies for  the kids coming in from school.

After a brisk walk with the dog I returned home to enjoy lunch and a chat with Darren. He’s very busy rehearsing with the Bornacoola Players for what has become their annual play so any few minutes spent in his company is very much appreciated at the moment!

I collected two very happy, giddy children from the bus stop and we had a giggle around the dinner table before they got started on their homework. We checked up on Mammy Byrne who has somehow managed to break a bone in her foot. My lovely sister was driving her home from getting a cast on it. The conversation was lively and full of love and laughter.

While tidying the kitchen after dinner I could hear the boy child singing happily while busily building lego constructions.

Today was filled with many happy moments.

This challenge has encouraged me to reflect on each day and to be more present as the day unfolds. I am sure that I have breezed through many days similar to today and not even noticed the happiness that spills from the humdrum, commonplace routine of everyday life.

Looking out the window at about 5.30, the sky was blue and I realised I hadn’t switched the lights on yet. It wasn’t the only thing that made me happy today but it was the easiest to capture in a photo!

Photo: #100happydays day 11 - blue skies at 5.30 in the evening! If that doesn't cheer the heart I don't know what will :)

Day 11 down, 89 to go!

100happydays.com

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

Leave a Reply

