#100happydays Day 24

Leave a comment
#100happydays / Life, Love, Family / thoughts

Potato, leek and fennel soup with thanks to Neven McGuire, cappuccino cake with thanks to Rachel Allen and chicken curry with thanks to Brian Byrne who came before the cult of celebrity chefs! Just about to have lunch and the aroma floating about the kitchen is making me very happy!

Photo: #100happydays Day 24 - soup with thanks to Neven McGuire, cappuccino cake with thanks to Rachel Allen and chicken curry with thanks to Brian Byrne who came before the cult of celebrity chefs! Just  about to have lunch and the aroma floating about the kitchen is making me very happy! Bon Appetit !

The frame you see on my counter top is a hand written recipe for the curry my dad made throughout my early childhood. I can remember the spicy smile in our kitchen as the curry sauce would bubble away. I can also remember refusing point blank to taste even the smallest amount.

After dad passed away I don’t remember ever smelling those particular aromas again.

Until the summer of 2010 when I received a phone call from a sister of his. She informed me that she had this hand written recipe in her possession and that she wanted to pass it on to me.

I happened to be in Ikea on the day in question and without hesitation suggested that I call to her house which was nearby to collect it.

Being handed a piece of paper with my dad’s handwriting was quite emotional. I remember looking at my mum and smiling with tears in my eyes. I couldn’t wait to get home to show it to Darren and the kids.

We made Granddad’s curry, as it has now been christened, that weekend. It’s a big hit chez Shiels.

Even my fussy eater, my 10 year old son, loves it.

I wish I’d tasted it sooner, it’s one dish I never get tired of preparing or eating.

I often wonder what dad would have made of the cult of celebrity chefs that has sprung up over the past decade or so. He’ll always be a celebrity chef to this lady.

Happy Wednesday, x.

Leave a Reply

