#100happydays Day 30

Leave a comment
#100happydays / Friendship / Life, Love, Family

Man is fond of counting his troubles, but he does not count his joys.  If he counted them up as he ought to, he would see that every lot has enough happiness provided for it.  ~Fyodor Dostoevsky

This morning a little package of happiness arrived with the postman.

A very dear friend of mine has had a book of her poetry published. I ordered a copy online when it came out and I love it.

Seeing it on my bedside table brings a smile to my face and fills me full of pride. I am immensely proud to call this beautiful poet my friend.

I met Mahasty while studying at undergrad level in NUIM. I studied many poets and analysed many poems and I have to admit that I never really clicked with poetry. That is until I read this book of poetry. Mahasty’s poems seem to speak to me.

Anyway back to this morning, among the post was a parcel from Mahasty. A signed copy of her book of poetry. The cover has been changed since I bought my copy and Mahasty kindly sent me a new edition.

There was great excitement in my house this morning as we opened the parcel and revealed the beautiful, vibrant book that lay within.

The book is called, Through Gateways and Walls Refuge and Refugee  and is written by Mahasty Eslahy.

Lately I have rekindled my love of snail mail. I love the surprise of finding a letter or card from a friend nestled among the bills and other everyday post. It never fails to make me smile.

When I can, I try to send something small to loved ones to add a little sunshine to their day.

30 days down, 70 to go. I’ll leave you as I started, with a quote!

Who is the happiest of men? He who values the merits of others, and in their pleasure takes joy, even as though it were his own. ~Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Photo: #100happydays Day 30 - this morning the postman's arrival signalled the onset of smiles, happiness and pride! He delivered a copy of my friend's book of poetry that she had signed especially for me. Thank you so much Mahasty Eslahy, xxx. It's something I will treasure for ever and I am immensely proud of her. I'm loving snail mail these days. I love finding trinkets that people will like and popping them in the post. Great way to spread a little happiness. So, this morning not only did I receive a piece of happiness I popped some in the post too!

Leave a Reply

