#happydays Challenge Day 35, 36, 37 and 38!!

comments 2
Life, Love, Family

I think I mentioned before that I undertook to post a picture on Facebook everyday for a hundred days for the #100happydays challenge. I thought it might be interesting to blog the reason why the image I post makes me happy.

While I manage to post the picture to Facebook each day it’s not as easy to make the  time to write the explanation.

I know there are a few readers who are following the challenge through the blog alone so I apologise for my absence over the past few days.  There’s a bit of catching up to do! Here goes………….

Day 35 (Sunday 23rd March)

The family.  We were a strange little band of characters trudging through life sharing diseases and toothpaste, coveting one another’s desserts, hiding shampoo, borrowing money, locking each other out of our rooms, inflicting pain and kissing to heal it in the same instant, loving, laughing, defending, and trying to figure out the common thread that bound us all together.  ~Erma Bombeck

Photo: #100happydays Day 35 - good morning! Up and out bright and early. Off to see The Muppets Most Wanted, thank you very much Olive Leddy for thinking of us x. Smiles all round :). Couldn't fit Darren in but he's smiling too :)

Yesterday morning (Saturday 22nd March) as I lay in bed I got a message from a cousin asking if we would be interested in seeing The Muppets Most Wanted as she had won tickets and couldn’t use them.

We were delighted and headed to Carrick early Sunday giddy with excitement.

On arrival we found goodie bags with popcorn, jellies and a drink waiting on our seats.

The movie was fantastic. It brought me back to my own childhood, sitting on the floor in front of the telly on a Saturday evening entranced by the antics and adventures of the motley crew.

I have memories of owning a Miss Piggy mask!

Everyone had great time. Even Darren……………..sure he has the best snoozes ever in the cinema!! Thanks Olive :).

Day 36 (Monday 24th March)

I know very well that I am in a minority here. But still, how can you call yourself a true tea-lover if you destroy the flavour of your tea by putting sugar in it? It would be equally reasonable to put pepper or salt. Tea is meant to be bitter, just as beer is meant to be bitter. If you sweeten it, you are no longer tasting the tea, you are merely tasting the sugar; you could make a very similar drink by dissolving sugar in plain hot water. ~George Orwell, “A Nice Cup of Tea,” Evening Standard, 12 January 1946

Photo: 100happydays Day 36 - nice cup of tea in my own kitchen after a long day

I have to agree wholeheartedly with my favorite writer, George Orwell. Nothing like having a cup of tea, sans sugar, in your favorite mug in your own home after a long day.

Day 37 (Tuesday 25th March)

Having picked some tea, he drank it,
Then he sprouted wings,
And flew to a fairy mansion,
To escape the emptiness of the world….
~Chiao Jen

If only this were true!!

Photo: #100happydays Day 37 - just in from soccer practise with the boy....feet up, fire blazing, mug of tea and a double decker :) happy out and warming up :)

I know, a bit of a pattern forming here! Tea yesterday tea today. Bit of an eventful day today and I was very happy to just flop in a chair, put my feet up and have a cup of tea. A few things happening at the moment that are throwing my usual routine into disarray.

I’m sure I’ll be back on track before I know it. But for now, a cuppa and a bar of chocolate are happiness enough for me!

Day 38 (Wednesday 26th March)

As it’s the eve of my 40th year in this world I’ve taken the liberty to post more than once today. I just couldn’t choose one photo!!

I woke with a headache and promptly turned over and took a sneaky second sleep. When I did eventually drag myself from between the covers this gorgeous cup of coffee was waiting on the table and breakfast was ready to be served.

Great start to a busy morning.

The morning cup of coffee has an exhilaration about it which the cheering influence of the afternoon or evening cup of tea cannot be expected to reproduce.  ~Oliver Wendell Holmes, Sr., “Over the Teacups,” 1891

Photo: Good morning!!! #100happydays Day 38 - woke with a headache so had a sneaky few extra mins in bed. Was meet by this when I arrived in the kitchen. Love it :)

As I tidied up after breakfast I caught a glimpse of the daisies that my lovely daughter picked for me yesterday. As you can see she arranged them in an egg cup. The egg cup is knocking around since the kids were tiny. It belonged to my youngest. The sight of them made me smile.

The poet’s darling.  ~William Wordsworth, “To the Daisy”

 

 

Work was challenging today. I arrived home a little frazzled and out of sorts. My mood was lifted when I spotted a parcel waiting to be opened.

It brightened even more when I realized who it was from.

I have often moaned about the evils of Faceache but without it there are people I would not be in touch with today.

Facebook has breathed new life into old friendships and I’m very lucky to have reconnected with friends I’ve had since early childhood. Friends who make a difference to my day and make me smile.

 

A good friend is a connection to life – a tie to the past, a road to the future, the key to sanity in a totally insane world.  ~Lois Wyse

So on the eve of my 40th year I’m very happy. My life is full of love, laughter and luck. The kind of luck that has ensured the people in my life are loving and caring.

I hope everyone has had a great day.

x

2 Comments

  1. Karen have a beautiful beautiful day, enjoy every birthday with a 0 in it…life does begin at 40 ( I have a bigger 0 coming up later in the year LOL)Am loving your blog xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

