#100happydays Day 39 (and Day 39 and 1/4……………sorry!)

comments 2
#100happydays / Life, Love, Family

Our birthdays are feathers in the broad wing of time.  ~Jean Paul Richter

I think I may have mentioned in passing that today is my birthday….my 40th birthday. What other reason is needed to be happy today?

I really love birthdays, especially my own :).

My day started with the kids waking me armed with cards and presents  and telling me breakfast was ready.

I followed them to the kitchen finding a bike with a big bow on it in the hall.

Huge surprise, I hadn’t a clue. I have been saying for years that I’m going to get myself a bike so I can take off with the kids and Darren. I’m so happy with my lovely present and the fact that I really wasn’t expecting it.

And for anyone who is wondering, it came with a helmet!

The postman arrived and left without leaving so much as a coloured envelope. I have to admit I was a tad disappointed……like surely Mammy Byrne and my sister would send a card. The kids seemed to think my disappointment was a little ott so I gave myself a stern talking to and moved on!

After a busy morning in the kitchen I was about to walk the dog when Mammy Byrne and my sister arrived at the door.

Enough to make me smile but the present that my sister gave me has kept me giggling to myself all day.

I’ve been joking that as it’s VW Golf’s 40th anniversary that my family are obviously getting me a brand new limited edition Golf for my birthday. No pressure folks :).

So when I opened my sisters beautifully wrapped gift and found this

I had a good giggle. When she said she’d be back on Saturday with my present I put 2 and 2 together (and got 9!!). She’s obviously bringing the rest of the Golf on Saturday :).

Then Darren called in for lunch and did this………..(Day 39 1/4)

I think I better let go of the dream :).

Wishing you all a very happy Thursday. Keep smiling…….it’s infectious. I’ll leave you with this;

Birthdays are good for you.  Statistics show that the people who have the most live the longest~Larry Lorenzoni

2 Comments

  1. janembarry says

    Happy Birthday Karen, I love birthdays too! Having turned 40 in September I have nothing but good to report on this decade so far : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

