#100happydays Day 51 – 52

Leave a comment
#100happydays / Friendship / Poems / Poetry / Poets

Day 51 – April 8th

Poetry is the revelation of a feeling that the poet believes to be interior and personal which the reader recognizes as his own. ~Salvatore Quasimodo

I studied English as an undergraduate. I loved analyzing novels and plays. I could always find an angle, an area of interest that I could sink my teeth into and expand on.

Poetry was beyond me and I always had to work harder to find a point of reference, a thread of interest or even a shred of meaning!

Recently a friend published a book of poetry and although poetry and I have never had an easy relationship I found myself looking forward to getting a copy of her book and reading her thoughts and words.

I was very pleasantly surprised when I did receive my copy. I found myself ‘getting’ the poems contained between the covers. Better still, I found myself liking the poems, returning to the book at different times and enjoying what the pages had to offer anew.

I am very pleased to have a talented poet as a friend and as I looked through the various different postings on Facebook today I was delighted to come across the following poem. As I had just sat down from making cookies and banana bread this poem seemed to speak to me. So todays photo was of my beautiful friends poem.

Spectacular Kitchen

Kitchen is waiting for the cake’s smell,
While smell of her, through wearing
Chanel Nomero 5 swaying in her region,
In her kitchen, meeting with the butter dancing 
At room hotness, while two cups of sugar are
Getting ready, to be added with three cups
Of sifted self rising flour, along with four
Eggs and one cup of milk in the company of
One teaspoon pure vanilla extracts which are
Capturing fine to be an especial cake!!
Electric mixer is shaking her hand for
Cream butter until fluffy; so as this cake
Is celebrating her happiness, her gladness,
Moreover; is ending of her sadness!
Certainly this kitchen is the spot of
Flowing love!
What a breathtaking kitchen!!

Mahasty Eslahy April 2014

Day 52 – April 9th
Education is learning what you didn’t know you didn’t know. ~George Boas
I felt a huge relief and a moment of joy as I packed my bag in readiness for work on Friday. Class planned, exercises and assignments ready. I pushed the bag into a corner and got on with helping with homework and getting dinner ready.
After dinner I went to my bedroom to get something and found this on my pillow:
A set of cards from my lovely 12 year old daughter. Each card had something that she loved about me on it. The things she loves about me ranged from, my face to the way I listen, my hugs  and the way I help.
I quickly realised that the joy of packing away my work bag could not measure up to the feeling of happiness and love that enveloped me when I read those lovely cards. She had illustrated each card with a little sketch.
While we try to teach our children all about life,
Our children teach us what life is all about.
~Angela Schwindt
Leave a Reply

