Monday Morning Musings

Leave a comment
Life, Love, Family

The last week of primary school has arrived for the majority of Irish primary school students. I am so happy! I love the summer holidays, no rigid timetables…..no more trying to be inventive with lunches…….there’s only so much you can get into a lunch box! And really, who wants to eat food that has sat in your bag all morning……..especially in this beautiful weather. Isn’t it time there was a fridge in the school so at least the kids could keep their drinks chilled? But I digress.

For my eldest, this summer marks the end of her primary school education and the beginning of her secondary school education. She is ready for the move. She is more than ready really. I’m just not so sure I am.

You see, education here is a game. It’s a race for points that I believe sucks the joy out of learning. It doesn’t seem to be so much about the comprehension and encouraging and supporting critical thinking. Sure who has time for that when you have a curriculum to learn of so you can regurgitate it during the state exam?

I think our system has mutated and is pressure ridden and limiting.

These are my dark thoughts as I stroll along the sun dappled road this morning.

Yes my daughter is ready to take on the world………….I’m just not sure I am.

Maybe all one can do is hope to end up with the right regrets. ~Arthur Miller

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

Leave a Reply

