Waiting

comments 6
Family / Life / Love

Over the past few years I have become a little better at waiting. I remember birthdays and Christmases past when I would be so excited waiting for the moment that I would receive my presents that I just could not stand still. Then the wonder, joy and excitement at opening these packages. Waiting seemed to be rewarded with happiness and joy.

Waiting to hear if I have succeeded at interviews is a whole new experience in waiting. It’s a time when self-doubt and critique creeps into the darkest crevices of the mind and picks apart all the positive affirmation that has gone before.

Then the dreaded missive arrives and your finger hoovers over the button. All that waiting yet here you are pondering whether you should wait a few seconds more.

Then you open the notification and instantly you feel you know what the news is, without reading further than the salutation.

And what is that feeling that descends? Disappointment, let down, regret, frustration, failure, despondence, rejection. All these negative emotions wrapped up in a tiny missive and the result of a twenty or thirty minute interview.

A window of opportunity to sell yourself through the answers to someone else’s questions. It’s all very subjective. It’s important to remember that as you quickly press the delete button and hope the shame and disappointment disappears as quickly.

And you begin to wait…………for the next job advertisement that will bring you to the next job interview that will result in the next missive.

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

6 Comments

  1. Lucy says

    I feel incredibly sad after reading that. I had a period of time where I just could not get an interview never mind the job. Very soul destroying…. Fast forward quite a few years and I now have my own small creative business. It has its own challenges but thankfully not the same dreaded job hunting and disappointment scenario. I hope tomorrow the balance of self worth that usually begins to ease back in again will make a welcome appearance. Until then my friend enjoy the sanctuary of a lovely home and family x

    Like

    • Lucy thank you so much for your lovely words. I felt a little sad writing it but once the words reached the page I felt better.
      And you are right, having the sanctuary of a lovely home and family and the support, encouragement and kind words of friends means the balance returns quick smart.

      thank you x

      Like

  2. You have not failed, although you may feel disappointed. You have correctly noted that the whole process is completely subjective and somehow this time it was not for you. Hold on to positivity and the knowledge that you are good enough and that you have the skills necessary to do the job. Your time will come Karen. Be ready for it. Val x

    Like

  3. Thank you kind friend, and whilst I know i haven’t failed that emotion creeps in as my eyes scan the many rejection letters/emails that land. Chin up and best foot forward and with supportive friends like you I know I can go far xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

