One of those days…..weeks….

Leave a comment
F.Scott Fitzgerald / Interview Etiquette / Job Hunting / Positivity

Hello. Sorry for the long absence.

I haven’t been blogging for the past few weeks. I hit a bit of a slump. Not in ideas as such. Just the day to day nitty gritty of keeping on keeping on.

I finished work in late June and enjoyed weeks and weeks of spending time with my family and close friends. My eldest started secondary school at the end of August and those of you who have read my early blogs will know that she wasn’t a fan of school. Our mornings could be quite conflictual despite our best efforts to remain calm and patient. Holidays were much looked forward to and each day of them savoured. I was filled with a sense of apprehension and unease the nearer we got to the big day. Naturally these feelings were matched in equal measure with excitement, wonder and awe that this day was approaching.

The day arrived and off she went looking very grown up, leaving us wondering where the years had vanished to and returning home full of chat and stories about her day. A new experience for us all. Happy days!

The youngest returned to school the following week. No fanfares for him. Same old same old. With both of my lovelies back in school my focus returned to securing steady employment. I found out to my peril that admitting you want steady secure work at a trail work placement is a no no! Who knew?

I have been employed on a temporary causal basis for the past four years and while it suited me perfectly while I was in college, studying for my post grad diploma in Adult Education and my Masters, six hours a week with long stretches of unemployment isn’t  ideal. I really need something more secure and steady now.

So when I was asked why I had applied for the position I replied honestly. I’ll know for the future that honesty may not be the best policy. Just as I’ll know to polish my aura and maybe change my name as Karen’s are bitches according to one interviewer………..maybe not all Karen’s, just the one she interviewed before me ……..

So yeah, job hunting is taking up a lot of my time and some interview scenarios have been down right weird. My positivity levels are beginning to wan the longer the search goes on. However, I am remaining up beat and remembering the happiness and positivity that grew from the #100happydays challenge. By cherishing, enjoying and experiencing the little things I am sure my positivity will grow and act as a buffer on the journey.

Have you experienced strange interview techniques? I’d love to hear about them.

Happy Thursday……….it’s almost the weekend 🙂

The test of a first-rate intelligence is the ability to hold two opposed ideas in the mind at the same time, and still retain the ability to function. One should, for example, be able to see that things are hopeless and yet be determined to make them otherwise. ~F. Scott Fitzgerald

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

Leave a Reply

