Random Acts of Kindness

Leave a comment
Beauty / Family / Kindness / Laughter / Love / Make up / Sharing

My last blog reflected my feelings during the past few weeks…………meh………..to say the least!

Writing about the madness and the rudeness of it all helped get it out of my system, helped me move on and dare I say laugh at the silliness that surrounded the escapade.

So, I picked myself up, dusted myself off and resumed the job hunt and even got another interview, one which restored my faith in humanity!

I also had a cousin over to stay. She came all the way from South Carolina, not just to see us………she visited with relatives in Dublin and Scotland and had a short break in Barcelona before coming to our humble abode. The excitement in the build up to her arrival was palpable. My youngest was counting the days from her plane landed in Dublin, and followed her short trips intently wishing her time away so she could be here with us. He absolutely adores having family over which always reminds me of the importance my Dad bestowed on family and celebrations.

My Mum came over with my niece and nephew while our visitor was here and my Aunt  and cousin joined us too. We had a full and happy house. There really is nothing like having a bunch of people you adore around. The positive happy energy that filled the house really lifted my spirits and listening to the laughter, music and song brought me back to my own childhood when lots of us would get together and have fun.

The postman arrived on Tuesday as my cousin was getting ready to leave. I was tempted to shelve the envelopes til later, thinking they were bills. However one envelope in particular caught my eye and I quickly tore it open when I recognised the sender,s name.

To my utter surprise and joy I found a gift token from Kelly O’Dowd Freelance Make up Artist.

At the grand old age of 40 I had my very first fake tan done. I have mentioned before  that I was born with quite a large hemangioma on my back. I have to admit that it makes me quite self conscious and so I have never had a tan done or a massage or anything that involves revealing my back! I have to say that Kelly made me feel extremely comfortable and at ease.

However, in true Karen fashion (as those who know me will attest to) I got faint just as Kelly was nearing the end………(I’m putting it down to not having eaten properly that day). Needless to say I was mortified…….yet Kelly was a true professional and didn’t seem fazed by my dramatics at all. I am truly sorry Kelly and if anyone deserves a gift token of appreciation it is you :). Your kind gesture really made my week, put a smile on my face and a spring in my step.

Be a rainbow in someone else’s cloud. ~Maya Angelou

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

Leave a Reply

