Never Assume!

comments 4
Diva / Family / Friendship / humorous / Job Hunting / Kindness

Part of the reason for my long absence from the blogosphere is that I was fortunate enough to get a teaching position that kept me out of the house from early morning until almost six each evening. I will admit that it was a bit of a culture shock after all, I usually work a three hour day twice a week! However, it was a culture shock that I enjoyed immensely.

My new job began at the beginning of December and I finished up last Friday. Over the ten weeks that I was there I got to know the teachers and the students quite well. I noticed that every student’s birthday was marked and celebrated with a cake and yes, I did have a sneaking suspicion as my departure date drew close that there may be a cake for me but knowing pride goes before a fall I didn’t dwell on this too much.

I remember in the run up to my wedding my mum and her friend paid me a visit. Darren and his best friend had headed to Galway for the weekend so I had the house to myself. Mam and Colette left as evening approached and just as I was about to relax for the evening I spotted Colette’s bag on the floor. I tried and tried to ring them  but got no answer and then it hit me! A friend of my Mam’s had a house just outside Mullingar, sure wasn’t it obvious that they were all in the house waiting to surprise me with a party! Into the car I hopped and off I speed excited to see all my aunts before I headed off to Scotland to get married. More fool me!

There wasn’t a sinner in sight as I approached the house…………the excitement left me like the air leaves a burst balloon. I decided to keep on going to see if I could catch Mammy Bynre and her pal before they reached the motorway. I eventually caught up with them at a garage and handed over the hand bag………..I’m not sure if I confessed my madcap assumption there and then or if I waited a few years until the embarrassment faded a little.

When I reached home I realised I had locked myself out of the house and the only other key was in Galway. Luckily for me in my haste to get to ‘my party’ I’d left the kitchen window open. Unfortunately it was over sixteen years ago, before fire safety regulations really took hold………..the opening was about ten inches wide…….

I managed to get my head and shoulders through and wiggle my body in to about my hips…..then I got stuck…..and started to panic! The more I panicked the more stuck I became. I was also starting to realise that even if I became unstuck I was going to land head first on the kitchen floor from a height of at least five foot. Could it get any worse?

Eventually I managed to wiggle myself without causing too much damage to the window or myself! So you see, I learnt the hard way never to assume anything.

So, last Friday when tea break arrived I was left absolutely speechless when not only was I presented with a cake but a beautiful bouquet of flowers and a beautifully gift wrapped gift to boot.

Anyone who knows me is very aware of the fact that I cry at the drop of a hat. It is common knowledge among my family and friends that my bladder is too near my tear ducts.

As soon as the thank yous began my throat started to close over and I could feel the tears prickling the backs of my eyes. The weeks that I spent with this motley crew have been some of the best weeks of my teaching career to date and all I could manage to squeeze out when asked for a few words was ‘Thank you’ before the tears started to slip out of my eyes. The ‘Thank you’ was meant from the bottom of my heart, thanks for the memories.

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

