#100happydayschallenge #18 Confusion Reigns…..

Leave a comment
Family / Life / Love

Usually the days leading to my birthday are filled with excitement, giddiness and anticipation…….and that’s just me! I’m sure the kids and Darren find it tiresome at this stage. However this year it sneaked up on me without he usual fanfare.

As I lay in bed willing myself to get up for work I could hear the sound of footsteps approaching my bedroom door. As the door opened a chorus of happy birthday sang out and my lovely family burst in with a yummy breakfast of pancakes and a beautiful bunch of flowers.

 Seeing the flowers on the table later that day brought a smile to my face. A smile that rippled through me. Leaning against the vase was a postcard to my son from his cousin.

Waiting on post has become  somewhat of a past time  in this house. These postcards are eagerly awaited and spread much joy and happiness when they arrive.

It really is the simple little things that remind us how rich our lives really are. Family, love  and togetherness. These things can’t be bought, but are nurtured with time and effort.

Then confusion set in and I posted another day 18! This is the right side of the cardigan I’m knitting. Fingers crossed before April is out I’ll have it finished.

There are exactly as many special occasions in life as we choose to celebrate. ~Robert Brault,

Make everyday a special occasion.

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

Leave a Reply

