#100happydayschallenge #day19

Leave a comment
Family / Life / Love

For as long as I can remember I have loved converse shoes. I remember seeing them in Arnotts department store way back in 1989/1990 and wanting a pair so badly. I asked my mum if I passed the Intermediate Certificate (a state exam here in Ireland that is now known as the Junior Cert) would she buy me a pair.

I was over the moon when she agreed and spent the next few months deciding what colour I would choose.

It wasn’t easy…..I would have loved a pair in every colour. Maybe if I had been a Celtic Tiger cub my wish would have been granted. However Ireland of the early 90s wasn’t quite as flush or maybe that was just our household.

Anyway, I eventually settled for a red pair of high tops and my love affair with Chuck Taylor’s classic began. I have been wearing these gorgeous foot attire ever since. Obviously not the same pair! The colours change now and then and the high tops have stepped aside for a few low tops.

Mammy Byrne arrived this morning with these beauties in tow. I have very happy feet at the moment and can’t help but smile every time I spot them.

Shoes can be boring, that’s why everyone needs a little colour and a lot of converse in their lives :).

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

Leave a Reply

