It’s been a while …..

Leave a comment
gratitude / the small stuff / work/life balance

Hello!

It’s been some time since my fingers tapped away on my keyboard and how I have missed the feeling. My work life has been pretty hectic and full on since December 2014. I didn’t really get time between jobs to regain my balance and found myself completely immersed in note taking and making, ensuring I was fully informed on the subjects that I teach.

I found myself caught up in a never ending cycle of work that took over every part of my life. The checks and balances I had created to release job related stress and worry dissolved and lay by the wayside. I longed to lift up my needles and finish the various projects that I had started but felt that I really needed to invest all my free time in preparing and organising  classes and assignments and oh I was really starting to annoy and bore myself!

My lovely glass house had morphed back into a glass shed …….and I lacked the get up and go to evict the wood pile that had taken up residence next to the turf.

I had even stopped reading for pleasure and was simply reading text books which really is no fun, no fun at all!

I could feel myself entering a state of apathy and felt that I needed to make a drastic change. Which I did.

How?

The answer is slightly cliched but I felt the fear and did it anyway. I had been putting off meeting a friend for sometime………..not because I didn’t want to meet them simply because it was my first time to meet them face to face and I believe (although I have been assured I am not) that I am  really shy and awkward around people when I first meet them.

So I felt the fear and did it anyway…….(if you’re going to trot out a cliche you may as well get good use out of it!) …. and I had the most fantastic evening. I returned home feeling revitalised, with a new sense of purpose.

I have begun making lists again. I love lists, I can see what needs to be done and what is getting done and what hasn’t been done but can be done tomorrow. The list making has given me time, time I have spent tidying the glass house which no longer resembles a glass shed. The knitting needles are back out and the kindle has been charged and is ready for action.

I feel more optimistic and thankfully my sense of gratitude has returned.

It is all about striking that work/life balance and I hope I have managed to find it at last.

If you have any tips on how to keep it please let me know! I’ll leave you with this lovely quote:

Some luck lies in not getting what you thought you wanted but getting what you have, which once you have got it you may be smart enough to see is what you would have wanted had you known.  ~Garrison Keillor

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

Leave a Reply

