Anniversaries and Lazy Weekends

comments 2
Family / Life / Love

Love doesn’t sit there like a stone, it has to be made, like bread; remade all of the time, made new. ~Ursula K. Le Guin

I think Le Guin has hit the nail on the head. Love is fluid and changes over time. Yesterday marked the 16th anniversary of our wedding day. A day that was celebrated in a low key manner with a few close friends and family. It was a day that marked the start of a new beginning for both of us. It signified the beginning of our family, a family of two. While convention dictates that this new beginning should be marked with ever increasing pomp and ceremony we decided to follow our hearts and keep it simple. That simplicity has followed us through our journey and we both still derive great pleasure from the simple things in life.

On Thursday evening as I was getting ready for bed I suddenly remembered that I had no card for Darren.On confessing this huge oversight he smiled and replied that he had also forgotten to buy a card!

On Friday morning our eldest asked which anniversary was it, paper, wood, glass? Darren piped up ‘it’s invisible’ to which I replied ‘great, I have  the perfect gift for you so!’ She laughed and muttered something about us being perfect for each other.

Being married for 16 years has not been based on the cards and presents we have given and received. It’s about working together, supporting each other and holding each other up when things get a little overwhelming.

I can honestly say that I still get butterflies in my tummy when it nears evening time and I know Darren is due to arrive home and I sincerely hope that feeling does not go away!

So yesterday evening we celebrated in style, Chinese takeaway with the kids and an evening by the fire. Sure what more could you want.

Hope you all have a  very happy weekend doing what you love.

Love has no desire but to fulfill itself. To melt and be like a running brook that sings its melody to the night. To wake at dawn with a winged heart and give thanks for another day of loving. ~Khalil Gibran

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

