Rituals, Routine and Staying in the Moment

comments 4
#100happydayschallenge / Life

Lately I have found myself feeling disconnected from the here and now. I’ve forgotten how to be mindful, present in the moment and have lost the sense of gratitude that comes with reflecting on the simple things in life. I’ve found myself in a much different place than this time last year. I am lucky to have secured work for the year and find that this has brought with it both positives and negatives.

I am not at home as much as I was used to be and this has left me a little unbalanced, rushed and starved of time. I’m missing the rhythm of my daily life and the steadiness that my daily routine  gave me.

There are a few little rituals that I incorporate into my day that seem to steady me and give me the solid foundation that I seem to need in order to keep my life on an even keel.

What are these rituals? Simple little things that I try to do everyday that keep me firmly in the now.

I start each day with a cup of freshly brewed coffee, not instant……I take the time to make a nice fresh cup. Weather permitting I have taken to sitting outside while drinking  my first coffee of the day. It’s really relaxing to sit and listen to the sounds of the garden. Water flowing, its speed dependent on whether it has been raining or dry. The early morning bird song interrupted now and then by the distant sounds of cars. If there is a breeze, which lets be honest is more often than not, the sound of the leaves rustling. I love this time of the day, relaxed and slow until the coffee cup is empty and it’s time to wake the crew and get the day well and truly started.

So that’s my morning ritual. I also have a night ritual. Before making sure the kids are tucked up in their beds I wash my face, floss and brush my teeth and head to bed. These simple acts steady my mind and ground me in the moment as I bid farewell to the day that was.

Lately I’ve been actively trying to be more mindful. I am slowly getting comfortable with short (very short) meditations. What do I hope to achieve? At the risk of sounding clichéd, I’m hoping to find inner peace and the strength to be able to cope with the stresses and stains of working and maintaining a balanced happy home. I want to enjoy reading, writing, running spending time with family without feeling that I should be working on class plans and corrections and reading for work and the list goes on and on.

So, I’m off to spend time with my lovely family before retiring with a good book! Is there anything you do to keep you in the here and now? Feel free to leave a comment, I’d love to hear.

Meditation allows us to directly participate in our lives instead of living life as an afterthought. ~Stephen Levine

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

4 Comments

  1. What a lovely blog Karen- I loved reading about your morning ritual and am envious of the tranquil setting and smell/taste of good coffee that sets up your day. Beautifully eloquent and descriptive. x

    Like

    • Thank you Val, You are very kind. You know you wouldn’t feel the same in December when it’s bucketing down and the mud meets you at the backdoor!! However, I do love our little patch of heaven and enjoy it during all seasons. x

      Like

  2. Well, here’s your Mindful-Sister, Karen! It’s been a few weeks now that I’m leaving my phone downstairs + turned off before I go to bed, as I was noticing that one of the first things I was doing in the morning was looking at Social Media.
    I’ve replaced this with a ‘Mindful Coffee’ – no radio/phone…etc. Just my thoughts. And it’s wonderful. Bravo us. Long may it last. It’s absolutely the way forward for me xxxx

    Like

    • Thanks Hilda, mindfulness seems to be the way to go. I tend to switch off as the evening approaches and spend time with the kids and Darren. Sure what more could you want 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

