Good Morning

Leave a comment
Family / Life / Love

Good morning or good evening depending where you happen to be.

It’s Saturday morning here and while the sun isn’t exactly shining it’s trying it’s best to break through the grey clouds that are insisting on hanging around my particular patch this morning. I haven’t ventured outside this morning as it’s a little damp and I can see the breeze move through the trees. So, I’m sitting at the kitchen table looking out on a dull but very beautiful scene. The birds are the only other creatures stirring. Their lovely song the only sound breaking the lovely morning quiet.

I’ve been sitting here for quite a while catching up on bits and pieces and just enjoying the peace and quiet!

I’ve been practicing mindfulness over the last few weeks and am getting better at taking time out to sit, relax and focus on the moment. I’m finding that I have much more time on my hands to do the things I want to do rather than the things I feel I have to do.

I’m using Corinne Sweet’s The Mindfulness Journal and finding it really useful and interesting. She provides exercises to help you acknowledge how you are feeling and why you feel, suggesting that once you’ve acknowledged them let them go. I particular like her idea of seeing these thoughts and feelings as butterflies that fly away leaving your mind at peace.

Another one of her suggestions to shed your work clothes for something more comfortable is a favorite of mine. Between my own rituals and routines and Corinne’s suggestions around mindfulness I’m feeling quite calm and relaxed!

I hope you all have a great weekend wherever it is you happen to be.

Slán agus beannacht leat.

Goodbye and blessings with you 

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

Leave a Reply

