Practicing Stoicism in downtown rural Ireland!

Leave a comment
Family / Life / Love

Good evening all. Just thought I’d let you know how acceptance and self-control are going for me.

Actively acknowledging that some things are out of my control has made a huge impact on my day-to-day living. I no longer spend huge amounts of time obsessing over what I’ve said and how I’ve said it and how someone might interpret it. I can only be responsible for myself and my own thoughts and actions. I’m aware that my intentions be informed by good judgement and that my thoughts, actions and words should not be intended to cause harm. However, these are things that I have always  endeavoured  to do, long  before I had discovered Stoicism.

I believe I have a strong sense of what is right and what is wrong and  that I act accordingly. In my interactions with others I strive to do no harm.

While I  probably have some way to go before this becomes an intrinsic part of my day, something I do without thinking, I am looking forward to the journey and what I will learn about myself along the way.

The exercise in eating like the Stoics for a week is a little easier than I had thought. I told you I love a sweet treat………..many times throughout the day!

However, since Friday morning I have been able to turn down all offers of sweet things. Even Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups which are my absolute favorite! I visited a coffee house and just had coffee………no cake. Plus I’ve actually cut down on my caffeine intake, which can only be a good thing.
Constant grazing between meals has stopped and I’m really pleased with myself to be honest, which probably isn’t very Stoic of me!

I am getting lots of things done that I just couldn’t seem to find the time to do over the past few months. I putting this down to practicing mindfulness/stoicism and clearing out the unused clutter that lay about the house. Everything feels and seems much lighter and the flow of energy through the house is unfettered.I’ve taken up my needles again and am listening to music, I missed listening to music.

Today I did a 5k fundraising walk and at about the half way mark when I felt like sitting down and taking a break I thought of the ancient Stoics, how they would march on through the discomfort. I felt great when I crossed the finish line. I’ve added exercise to my list of things to do! I have not made it out to pound the pavement in months and boy did I feel it today.

Well I’m off to watch some TV with my little family. So, good night from Crabtree Cottage. I hope you have had a full and eventful weekend where ever you are.

Feel free to leave a comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts and opinions.

Slán agus beannacht.

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

Leave a Reply

