Tiny little update

Leave a comment
Home / Humour / Life

Hello and welcome to those of you who are new to the blog.

Just a tiny little update on how practising stoicism is going for me this week. Quite good really. How do I know? Well, when I was confronted by an overzealous mammy subtly  letting me know that my commitment to motherhood in no way reached the dizzying heights of hers I calmly smiled, nodded and mentally checked my to do list while she wittered away.

The old me would have visibly bristled while I gave her the death stare and thought of witty yet cutting comebacks that I never would have uttered because Mammy Byrne has raised me with the maxim ‘if you have nothing nice to say, say nothing at all’. I hasten to add that I rarely took her advice as a kid however I did bring it into adulthood and it has served me well.

I have no control over how others express themselves and if they want to live their lives vicariously through their offspring, who am I to stand in their way?

On a more serious note and probably much more in the spirit of stoicism I have been able to integrate it into the way I organise and conduct my work commitments.

I’m not sure if any of you have ever experienced the feeling of heading off to work and thinking; ‘someone is going to find me out, I’m really not the person they think I am!’. I used to get that feeling quite a bit. Maybe it stems from retraining and just not having the experience behind me that my peers have or maybe it’s lack of self – confidence or low self – esteem. Whatever it is, practising mindfulness and reading about stoicism combined with accepting the fact that not everything is controlled by me, has resulted in that feeling diminishing. It no longer sits to the front of my mind trying to sabotage me.

Practising self – discipline and self – control around my eating habits really hasn’t been as difficult as I initially thought it would be. I have cut out snacking, grazing and constantly picking during the day. For the most part I have had three meals a day and once or twice I went mad and had a treat. However, I could take it or leave it whereas, before if I knew there was something sweet and sugary, or even savoury lying around I just had to eat it. I will be continuing with eating like a Stoic. I think I ate out of boredom so now I do something productive instead. It’s a win win situation.

So yes, I’m quite pleased with myself (as I said before probably not very stoic of me as the ancient Stoics did not believe in talking about what they did, no blowing your own trumpet, pride going before a fall and all of that).

In a nutshell that is how my week has been, of course the acceptance and self –  control wasn’t all plain sailing and I have had a few lapses. Like the evening that I spotted a youth recording my attempts to park my car………or the time my youngest was enjoying the loveliest smelling popcorn beside me and I tucked in without thinking. The important part was that I didn’t throw in the towel, I just chalked it down to experience and carried on. I didn’t beat myself up about it either, I accepted my flaws, told myself I’m only human and kept going.

My weekend begins here so I wish you all well. I’m off to put my feet up and read for a bit.

I hope you have had a lovely Thursday where ever it is you are. Please feel free to comment, I really would love to hear from you.

Slán agus beannacht,

Karen.

P.S. I was thinking of naming the blog What Karen Did Next…….

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

Leave a Reply

