September Fatigue!

Leave a comment
Family / Life / Love

Gratuitous Picture of Pigeons no relevance to blog whats so ever!

I have September fatigue already.

This is not a teary eyed post about the first day of school, I promise. My two are long past their first day at school.

I am tired of the back to school posts, advertisements and memes that are rejoicing in the school’s reopening after the summer holidays. you know the ones, they tell you how great it is to be getting rid of the kids for most of the day. They illustrate how upsetting the first week is for the teachers. They tell of how the ‘poor’ teachers dread these initial few days.

They have hundreds of likes so there are pockets of people out there nodding sagely in agreement.

I’m tired of them already and it’s only day two………..

As a parent I can honestly say that I like the kids being home. I like the energy they have, their sense of humour, their witty (ok cheeky) remarks. I like to watch them together or with their friends and see how they have grown, witness the great people they are becoming. And ok, the break from making school lunches that inevitably end up in the bin isn’t bad either.

The thing is I have a niece and nephew who are adults now. They were like two and seven yesterday! Then I looked around and one is jetting here, there and everywhere and the other is living in Dublin and attending college. And I miss them. I miss calling to their house and hanging out with them, hearing about what’s happening in their days. Getting to witness the witty, smart fantastic adults they are growing into.

So I confess, I love the summer months. I love the time spent doing nothing. The time spent watching, listening and falling a little more in love with the two humans myself and my lovely husband brought into this world.

I’m also a teacher. And not for one moment do I dread going to work in September. I pick up my bag and smile thankfully to myself that I am one of the lucky ones. I have a job, I’m doing something I love and my day is mixed and varied. I get to meet students, to encourage and support them in their academic journey.

So I just wanted to put it out there, not every mammy is home tangoing around the sitting room thanking the universe that at last the schools have reopened their doors and those pesky kids are out of her hair. Isn’t it rather sad to think like that about your own flesh and blood?

And not every teacher has to force themselves out the door come September.

You are worried about seeing him spend his early years in doing nothing. What! Is it nothing to be happy? Nothing to skip, play, and run around all day long? Never in his life will he be so busy again. ~Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Emile, 1762

Slán agus beannacht,

Karen

The Author

I'm living on the Leitrim border with my lovely husband and two terrific kids. It's the little piece of heaven that I dreamed of growing up. I work in Adult Education by day and during my free time I read, write, knit, plant and bake not always in that order. I blog about life, love, family and everything in between. Pull up a chair and have a browse while you're here. All the best, Karen

Leave a Reply

