Another World

comments 2
Family / Life / Love

I have the privilege of working with people who I probably wouldn’t have the opportunity to chat with in everyday life. On a personal level I have benefited greatly from these working relationships and I am constantly learning about myself and the world around me.

Today I learned that it is a special day within the Muslim calendar year. A day that would be similar to our Christmas. A day when family get dressed up and come together to share food and gifts.

I wasn’t aware of this until I got into conversation over my tea break today. I would have let this lovely gentle person depart from my company without wishing her a lovely afternoon and evening with her family.

What always strikes me as I go through my working day is not the differences that exist between me and those I work with. It’s the similarities, the threads that we have in common.

The differences make for interesting conversation and inform me about issues that I might otherwise never have thought about. They help shape my understanding and preception of the world. The similarities, they bring us together.

Lately I have had a quote stuck in my head.

‘Another world is not only

possible, she is on her way.

On a quiet day, I can hear

her breath.’

Arundati Roy, World Social Forum, 2003.

Lately I have been straining extra heard to hear her breath, we are in need of that other world, we really are.

Slán agus beannacht.

Karen x

2 Comments

  1. Ah, the importance of being a good listener. Your interest probably meant much to her. It’s the little things….

    Such a hope-filled quote, thanks for sharing! Xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

