Sea Breezes

comments 2
Life, Love, Family

There is nothing quite like the draw of the sea. Every month I travel to Sligo to bring one or other or both of my kids to the orthdondist. I love the drive. Once we pass the turn off for Boyle the scenery becomes more and more majestic  and my shoulders relax and as I watch the fields unfold and the mountains grow bigger any tension I hold starts to seep away.

I try if at all pssible to combine these routine dental appoinments with trips to the sea. You see, I find the swell of the sea and wild sea breeze theraputic. It never fails to calm my soul and still my mind. Leaving me feeling relaxed and energised. Ready for whatever it is that Karen does next!

Today was no different. After getting the mouth metal sorted we took of to Strandhill with the intention of having something to eat in Shells but to our dismay it  wasn’t open. However, all was not lost as the lovely ice cream parlour on the corner, Mammy Johnston’s   was open for business and looked warm and inviting.

A delicious array of treats greeted us as we approached the counter, kids couldn’t resist the smell of the warm crepes smoothered in nutella (don’t tell the dentist, what’s seldom is wonderful!)

After our lovely lunch in a cosy corner of Mammy Johnston’s  we went for a walk along the beach. The air was crisp and the sky was calm and blue as the waves crashed onlong the shore. Peace and tranquility   enveloped me as I walked behind my two lovelies, their heads together, plotting untold mischief.

After a while we headed back to the warmth of the car and headed for home. A perfect afternoon having been spent in nature’s theraputic arms.

As I write I’m hungrily waiting for dinner, fish pie in keeping with the sea theme that was today!

Why do we love the sea? It is because it has some potent power to make us think things we like to think. ~Robert Henri

Hope your Tuesday is treating you well,

Slán agus beannacht,

Karen x

 

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

