Blue skies and frosty mornings

comments 2
Life, Love, Family

 

Since January I have been in a bit of a slump and have been putting it down to the weather, my workload and the general hum drum of everyday living.

Then something quite magical happened on Monday (not like hocus  pocus magic, I might be getting a little over dramatic but stay with me!). As I set off for work on Monday evening I was delighted to notice that it wasn’t yet dark and although it was cold there was no rain hammering against the windscreen. I could feel an instant change in my disposition which I immediately put down to the grand stretch I was witnessing in the evening (plus I get to listen to George Hook and Ciara on the medical slot on newstalk which really does liven up my drive).

Then, on Tuesday morning as I struggled to fight of the death  grip the duvet had on me I noticed the light coming through the bedroom curtains, sure it was like someone flipped a switch inside my head! The gloom and dreariness that had been plaguing me vanished. And you know something…….I’m feckin delighted it has taken a hike! I was sick of myself for the past few weeks.

So what have I been doing? Well working away mostly………..well trying to work away is a more honest description. You see I get terribly distracted so the fact that I work away at the laptop is a huge disaster as is the fact that I get all consumed by what I’m doing so even when I’m not at the laptop I am thinking I should be at the laptop. It really is an awful affliction………I wake with work on my mind and I fall into bed with work on my mind. My poor family get the vaguest of answers to the questions they ask if they get an answer at all!

I’m hoping the grand stretch in the evenings and the bright mornings will encourage me to get outside more, taking my mind off work. And sure look, haven’t I started blogging again. If there’s anyone out there say hi………..I love an auld chat, a bit of distraction makes my day 🙂

Now I really must get some work done, slán agus beannacht.

Work expands so as to fill the time available for its completion.

~C. Northcote Parkinson, 1958

Karen

 

2 Comments

  1. I’m here. Hi !!! The longer days will help. And I noticed I started February proactively, had blog posts in the hopper, and was able to art to my hearts content. But then I fell into reactive post writing again. And Creative Bottcamp dwindled. And I hate that. Takes the same amount of time to write those but it’s such a different brain place.
    Here’s to walking outside in Springtime Karen.
    Love,
    Shalagh

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Shalagh,
      Thanks for saying hi. You have been incredibly productive this month I have been watching your activity in awe! I’m so looking forward to being outside, walking, planting, having coffee…..a little sunshine would be the icing on the cake.

      Love,

      Karen

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

